December Dilemmas

Another pre-Christmas weekend over….the hustle, the bustle.

I, for one, count down the days until Christmas morning when I can enjoy the tree, the lights, the crunching sounds of tearing paper and the giggles over the toys and glittery items that “Santa” has graciously left in our decked out living room.

I love to wallow in past memories on Christmas Eve while I am alone doing finishing touches to the “scene” for the next morning. Thoughts go back to simpler times,to my own grandmother, mother and brother…all of whom are gone from life but alive and well in my thoughts especially at holiday time.

They loved Christmas and made an all out effort to make my memories of Christmas blessed ones. You see I was “the baby” in the family….12 years younger than my brother, so the mystery and magic of Christmas was alive and well in our house for many years thanks to them preserving it for me.

Christmas morning and all day is time for memory making for my own family and now it includes a little one who “believes”.

I try to quell the need to buy and buy in the days leading up to Christmas…it is never easy.

I attempt to remember daily, that these days are not about the “stuff”  they are about the people in my life.

Happy Holidays…whatever one you celebrate…make memories and enjoy.

About lorettelavine

Wife, mother, grandmother, registered nurse, licensed clinical social worker, blogger. Parent and child advocate, involved in life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

